Tag Archive | Suzanne Woods Fisher

Mending Fences by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Limitless Love

Mending Fences by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a delightful contemporary Amish novel about healing and new beginnings. It is the first book in a new series, The Deacon’s Family and I cannot wait for the subsequent books.

Broken people are at the heart of the story. Some are broken due to poor choices, others have been broken and shaped by childhood. “God does His best work with messes.” Events have coloured our view of ourselves. We need others to point out our true worth. “You’re not just a girl on the streets. You’re a child of God… a pearl of great price.” We need to turn to God and believe what He tells us. God loves us and His love “wasn’t finite… It was limitless.”

There are some huge hearts for people in the novel that believe that we all deserve second chances. She saw “troubled people… as if she could see the diamond inside.” Kindness, patience and even tough love can all help to transform the troubled soul. Once transformed, hearts want to pay it forward and help others in need.

The novel shows the destructive power of addiction. We need help to overcome and there needs to be a desire for change.

Continue reading

The Light Before Day by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Real Treasure

The Light Before Day by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a marvellous Christian historical novel with a dual timeline of the late seventeenth century and mid nineteenth century. It is the third book in the Nantucket legacy but can be read as a stand-alone. This has been a fascinating series that is grounded in reality as fact blends with fiction to enthral the reader.

The novel is about treasure – actual and literal. The real treasure is to be found within people, people whose hearts are in tune with God and whose eyes see others, and whose hands reach out to others. Bricks and mortar, earthly treasures can be replaced. People are priceless.

Continue reading

Minding The Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The Beat Of My Heart

Minding The Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher is an epic Christian historical novel with its dual timeline and its continuation of the story of Mary Coffin and her ancestors.

Once again I was completely engrossed in this second book of the Nantucket Legacy series. Big hearts that see people reigned. Family is important for some, but for others they prefer to try to rule the roost. “She was quite fond of her grudges, nursing them like little pets.” Grudges change us from open hearted to closed fisted and are best avoided.

Life was hard. People died. She “was gone from this earth, yet life carried on as if it were an ordinary day.” We feel that the world should stop turning when a loved one dies, but that is never the case.

Continue reading

Phoebe’s Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher

Seeking The Shepherd

Phoebe’s Light by Suzanne Woods Fisher is a marvellous Christian historical adventure. It is the first book in the Nantucket Legacy series and what a fabulous series that promises to be.

The novel has two parallel stories, one set in 1658 and the other in 1767. Both have strong women who know what they want. One seeks the will of God. The other is led by her own thoughts and feelings. “An abundance of money seemed to be the answer to all of life’s problems.” Money is never the answer, God is.

The hand of her great grandmother, her story and her wisdom seems to travel down the years. As the truths sink in, the need for God is realised. The epiphany is “This peace. This sense that she was not alone.” This is the peace of God that passes all understanding and is available for all.

Continue reading