Oh William by Elizabeth Strout

Exploring Relationships

Oh William by Elizabeth Strout is an epic contemporary read that consumes from the start. It is the third book in the Amgash series but can be read as a stand-alone.

The book is written in the first person as we learn about a life and a relationship with an ex-husband. Although their relationship ended years ago, their friendship remained and they support each other through all the seasons of life. William, in his later years, is very dependent on his ex-wife to keep his loneliness away.

We hear about the highs and lows of life. There is also a search for roots. We all want to know where we come from and how we fit in within the family.

Continue reading

The Puppy That Came For Christmas by Megan Rix


The Puppy That Came For Christmas by Megan Rix is a wonderful book about having puppies to train as service dogs.

This is a delightful account of first time puppy owners Megan Rix and her husband as they navigate the highs and lows of puppy training.

It is also a book about infertility problems and fostering as the couple are deemed too old to adopt.

Emotions run high throughout the book. There are tears and laughter as the couple bond with their puppy, knowing they will have to let her go after six months, for further training.

Continue reading

Celebrating The Seasons by Amanda Owen

Stunningly Beautiful

Celebrating The Seasons With The Yorkshire Shepherdess by Amanda Owen is a most beautiful book that is the perfect accompaniment to the television series Our Yorkshire Farm.

The book is split into twelve months of the year as the reader learns what happens each month at Ravenseat Farm.

There are many beautiful photographs of the landscapes, the animals and the Owen family. I love to see the young girls wearing pretty dresses and wellies as they go about their chores.

To tempt the tastebuds there are recipes each month – one sweet and one savoury.

Continue reading