The Hope Jar by Wanda E Brunstetter

Escaping The Past

The Hope Jar by Wanda E Brunstetter is the most delightful Amish novel and the first book in The Prayer Jar series. I cannot wait for subsequent books.

The novel shows the dilemma for the young Amish – they wonder if the Englisch way of life is better. Rumschpringe is a trying time for both parents and youngsters.

How far would you go to escape your life? How many lies would you tell? What happens if you build your new life on a foundation of lies?

There is an awakening to God in the novel. He seemed so far away. Sometimes we feel unworthy of God’s love but His grace covers us all. A series of divine appointments can light a fire in our soul.

Continue reading

Walker’s Vale by John J Zelenski

Saved By Amazing Grace

Walker’s Vale by John J Zelenski is a Christian supernatural novella. It is a story that unfolds, grips and chills the heart.

We are all in a supernatural battle. Angels and demons fight around us. Angels protect. Demons deceive and destroy. God looks after His children. He sends people to rescue and to pray for our well being.

God is also the God of the miraculous. He healed in the past. He heals in the present. He will heal in the future. He is the same yesterday, today and forever.

We are all saved by God’s amazing grace. The blood of Jesus covers us all. We need only to call on the name of Jesus and be saved. At the mention of His name, the demons flee.

Continue reading

Never Change by Anne Carol

Taking Our Messes

Never Change by Anne Carol is a Christian YA and the third book in the Faithfully Yours series. This is a fabulous series that deals with real life issues – things that people struggle with. Set in 1984, the issues are still the same today.

Never Change deals with pregnancy and living with a newborn that presents its own challenges with sleep deprivation and hormones, as well as huge life adjustments.

There are also the themes of trust, addiction and rehab. Sometimes we are our own worst enemies and we cannot trust ourselves as we travel down the road marked self destruct. “The drugs and the alcohol have stolen his soul.”

We need to recognise the triggers when sin comes knocking, and firmly close that door.

Continue reading

Never Fall by Anne Carol

A Gritty Read

Never Fall by Anne Carol is a Christian YA novel set in the early 1980’s and continues the story from book one in the Faithfully Yours series.

Marriage means life adjustments. It’s not all a bed of roses. The wedding may be a fairytale but then real life follows. Anne Carol has written a gritty Christian novel dealing with hard hitting topics such as miscarriage, alcohol and drug abuse, suicide and violence against women. The reader enters the sometimes seedy world of the pop group and the groupie. Pressure to succeed means that sometimes characters make poor choices.

The novel shows the tension between wanting to be a good wife and being a normal teen hanging out with friends and having girls night’s out. Sometimes the choices made are not always wise.

Continue reading