The Crying Cave Killings by Wes Markin

Exciting & All Consuming

The Crying Cave Killings by Wes Markin is another fabulous crime suspense and the third book in The Yorkshire Murders series. It can be read as a stand-alone but I recommend reading the previous books first for maximum enjoyment.

I enjoyed being reunited with familiar faces who were once more relentless in their search for the truth.

The line between good and evil is blurred as a ‘good’ character is tormented by a terrible past event. The guilt over the choice made, and the path taken, continues to eat away.

There is the theme of identity. Some hide who they really are through shame of what others might think. There are some tragic decisions taken.

Family is important. Sometime we choose our family, at other times we are born into it. True family will always protect the vulnerable.

The reader enters the murky criminal underworld surrounding Knaresborough and Mother Shipton’s cave. The petrified objects add to the dark atmosphere as the scene is set. Mirrored by the petrified objects is a soul trapped inside itself.

All the characters were well drawn and realistic. The reader admires those who seek justice within the law. We witness that even some of the criminals have compassion. Life is not always clear-cut black and white but varying shades of grey.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Crying Cave Killings. It was exciting and all consuming.

I received a free copy via Rachel’s Random Resources for a blog tour. A favourable review was not required. All opinions are my own.


The Crying Cave Killings

Are you missing Happy Valley? Pre Order the next gripping instalment in the Yorkshire Murder Series by bestselling British crime author Wes Markin!

A murdered child. A case from the past. A detective inspector with nothing to lose…

DI Paul Riddick is a man tormented by his own actions and determined to right the wrongs of his past any way he can. But when his instincts lead him to follow a child he believes to be in danger, Riddick gets in deeper than he ever imagined…especially when the child is found dead.

DCI Emma Gardner doesn’t believe Riddick has blood on his hands, but he’s off the case until she can clear his name. If she can clear his name. Because Riddick seems determined to chase ghosts that only get him into more trouble.

Riddick’s certain he didn’t kill the kid in the cave. But he also remembers another case, twenty years ago, with shocking similarities…which means someone is trying to trap Riddick.

Can Riddick uncover the truth, or will this be the case that finally destroys him once and for all?

Don’t miss the brand-new gripping crime series by bestselling British crime author Wes Markin!

Purchase Link –

Author Bio –

Wes Markin is the bestselling author of the DCI Yorke crime novels, set in Salisbury. His new series for Boldwood stars the pragmatic detective DCI Emma Gardner who will be tackling the criminals of North Yorkshire.  Wes lives in Harrogate and the first book in the series The Yorkshire Murders will be published in November 2022. 

Social Media Links –  



Bookbub profile:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.