The Lonely Lake Killings by Wes Markin


The Lonely Lake Killings by Wes Markin is a totally gripping crime suspense that I could not put down. It is the second book in The Yorkshire Murders series but can be read as a stand-alone.

I enjoyed meeting up with familiar characters. An unlikely detective pairing once more work together to solve the crimes.

Everyone has a past. Sometimes our pasts follow us into our present, influencing our lives. There are characters who cannot move forwards as they are forever inhabiting their pasts.

Grief does not improve with time. A character tries to function but finds himself slipping backwards. His coping mechanisms could destroy him as his grief runs deep.

Old crimes resurface as a father seeks justice for his daughter.

Justice means different things to different people. We see that when characters seek justice, sometimes the lines blur between good and evil.

We all face daily problems. No one has a perfect life. We witness the struggle to balance a work- home life.

All the characters were well drawn and realistic. The leading pair were likable and tenacious in their pursuit of the truth.

I am totally gripped by The Yorkshire Murders series. I think it would make a great Netflix series. Wes Markin certainly knows how to weave a marvelous tale.

I received a free copy via Rachel’s Random Resources for a blog tour. A favourable review was not required. All opinions are my own.


The Lonely Lake Killings

A lonely recluse. A missing girl and a community in fear.

When the body of a young local girl is found next to an isolated lake, the main suspect is the old recluse who has lived next to the lake for many years – especially when the young girl’s purse is found on the old man’s doorstep.

But DCI Emma Gardner and her partner DI Paul Riddick aren’t so sure. Why would the old hermit leave such an obvious clue? And who would want to set the old man up?

As they dig deeper into the murder they discover a community in fear, determined to keep hold of long buried secrets. And Riddick is convinced that his own dark past is somehow linked to this crime, too.

Gardner fears that she may never get the answers she needs, until a break leads her down a path she’d rather not face. One that runs directly to her own front door…

Purchase Link –

Author Bio –

Wes Markin is the bestselling author of the DCI Yorke crime novels, set in Salisbury. His new series for Boldwood stars the pragmatic detective DCI Emma Gardner who will be tackling the criminals of North Yorkshire.  Wes lives in Harrogate and the first book in the series The Yorkshire Murders will be published in November 2022.

Social Media Links –  



Bookbub profile:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.