Archive | May 2016

A Daughter’s Dream by Shelley Shepard Gray

Developing Dreams

DaughterA Daughter’s Dream by Shelley Shepard Gray is an Amish romance and book number two in the Charmed Amish Life series. It can however be read as a stand-alone.

There are a great many themes within the novel and a major one is grief. Grief comes in many forms, none of them are right or wrong. Everyone grieves in different ways. Lukas and Rebecca are still coming to terms with the loss of their factory owning father (book one). Lilly Yoder is recovering from the sudden death of her parents. The town is still feeling the effects of the loss of the men in the factory fire (book one). Everyone needs support and in a small close knit community, they all try to help each other.

Families are another major theme. Family members stick together. They help each other. The extended Amish community seems particularly good at supporting and loving its members.

Continue reading

The Postcard by Leah Fleming

A Mother’s Instinct

PostcardThe Postcard by Leah Fleming is another masterpiece from a wonderful story-teller. It is an epic tale spanning almost a century. The Postcard deals with love and loss, war and peace, and over it all is the love of mothers.

The action is set over several countries – Scotland, England, Egypt, Germany, Australia to name but a few. Within The Postcard fact meets fiction and is woven into a fabulous novel.

The novel is told in the third person from several viewpoints. The reader really gets to know the characters who are all realistically drawn. Leah Fleming really has a great talent for creating characters that come alive and live inside the reader’s head.

Continue reading

The Captain’s Daughter by Leah Fleming

Love And Loss, Friendship And War

CaptainThe Captain’s Daughter by Leah Fleming is an historical novel set between 1912 – 1959. The action moves from the Titanic to Akron, America; Lichfield, England; New York; Tuscany and the Italian battlefields of World War II. It is an epic story of love, loss, war and friendship.

The novel is told in the third person but from several different viewpoints as the action alternates between the continents.

We all know the story of the Titanic. Fact is interwoven with fiction within the pages of The Captain’s Daughter. The reader meets Captain Smith and the unsinkable Molly Brown, as well as the fictitious May and Celeste. As the ship goes down so friendships are forged that will not be broken, as lives are forever altered.

Continue reading

Through The Shadows by Karen Barnett

Amazing Grace

ShadowsThrough The Shadows by Karen Barnett is the third book in the Golden Gate Chronicles. It is a Christian historical novel set in 1908 in the aftermath of the 1906 San Francisco earthquake.

The novel is all about new beginnings. No-one is too far from the hand of God. “You’re never beyond God’s love.” Whatever the past, God can take lives and redeem them. “All around you… you can see God bringing life from the ashes… And He’s redeeming these girls from the ruin of their lives too.” The story centres around a Chinese mission to rescue young girls and women from a life of slavery and/or prostitution. The centre is run by Miss Cameron who will stop at nothing to give the girls a new start in life.

Through The Shadows continues the theme of rescue throughout. One can be physically rescued or spiritually rescued. This all ties in with the theme of grace. Everyone has sinned but Jesus went to the cross for all our sins. We all need grace and we all need to dispense grace. If we close our eyes to suffering, it is as if we are turning our backs on Jesus.

Continue reading