A Scandinavian Summer by Helga Jensen

Sensitively & Beautifully Written

A Scandinavian Summer by Helga Jensen is a most delightful contemporary novel that made me laugh whilst tugging at my heartstrings.

Loss is hard whenever it strikes. There are different kinds of loss. The novel explores this theme. We follow a forty nine year old character who suddenly finds herself alone. Her identity as a wife and a mother is questioned – who is she if she is not fulfilling those roles?

The novel has the twin themes of bravery and stepping out into something new. As a character broadens her horizons, she begins to find her joy again. “I’m happy! I never thought I’d say those words.”

With new-found joy comes guilt. How dare she be happy to be alive. She needs to learn to live again and not feel guilt for smiling.

We see that appearances can be deceptive. How well do we really know someone? Secrets that are unearthed lead to confusion threatening to derail a life as confidence in what is seen, is dented. There is a huge question of trust.

There is a wonderful fresh feel to the story as we move from the Welsh valleys to an island off Denmark. The reader can ‘feel’ the freedom a bike ride brings in contrast to a stuffy car journey.

I fell in love with the characters. The leading lady was appealing with her kind heart and trusting nature. She was a gentle spirit. And I loved octogenarian Mrs Morris who spoke her mind and called a spade a spade.

The novel was a really fun, light-hearted read in spite of its serious themes. There were some moments of great hilarity. I laughed out loud at the preparation for a Scandinavian walking class in Wales.

The whole book was beautifully and sensitively written. I thoroughly enjoyed it and cannot wait for more from Helga Jensen.

I received a free copy from Rachel’s Random Resources for a blog tour. A favourable review was not required. All opinions are my own.

JULIA WILSON

A Scandinavian Summer

It’s the right time for love, but is it the wrong place?

After the tragic, premature death of her husband Anthony, Martha has spent all her time focused on her teenage daughter Rosie in their small Welsh village.

But with Rosie leaving the nest, and Martha’s own job on the line, it feels that life is passing her by.

Inspired by her love for Scandi-noir dramas, Martha impulsively books a trip to Denmark, determined to push herself out of her comfort zone – even if the thought terrifies her…

Her trip to the tiny island of Fano becomes something much more: in the form of handsome stranger, Lars. Can Martha find love under the Scandinavian skies… but more importantly, can she find herself?

A romantic, warm and uplifting read, guaranteed to leave you smiling. Fans of Jenny Colgan and Kathryn Freeman will adore this feelgood read!

Purchase Links

AMZ: amzn.to/3JdMRO6

Kobo: bit.ly/3J5FyrT

Apple: apple.co/35X1tDk

Hive: bit.ly/3GHtlJn

Author Bio –

Helga Jensen is an award-winning British/Danish best-selling author and journalist. Her debut novel was a winning entry in the 2017 Montegrappa First Fiction competition at Dubai’s Emirates Literary Festival. Her debut was also a contender for the coveted 2021 Joan Hessayon Award for new writers. Helga’s second romantic comedy, A Scandinavian Summer, went straight to number one on the Amazon Kindle charts for Danish travel on its publication day. Helga holds a BA Hons in English Literature and Creative Writing, along with a Creative Writing MA from Bath Spa University. She is currently working on a PhD.

Social Media Links –

Social media contacts

Twitter – https://twitter.com/HelgaJensenF

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/Helgajensenauthor/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/helgajensenfordeauthor/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.