Tag Archive | Gail Kittleson

Land That I Love by Gail Kittleson

Educated And Entertained

Land That I Love by Gail Kittleson is a marvellous historical novel that will both educate and entertain you.

The story is set in America during World War II and is seen through the eyes of an Englishman from Nottingham. It is written in the first person enabling the reader to become intimately acquainted with the main character and his young son.

Friendship and loyalty loom large as a manservant, William, accompanies the lead character from England to America. He has loyally served the family for years. In America, the land of the free, we witness the transition from servant to friend, where both are on an equal footing.

Mental illness takes a toll on lives and a marriage. The opening of the novel is reminiscent of Mr Rochester and his wife. It is a night that will forever haunt the lead character.

The reader hears the plight of the enemy aliens living within America. It is particularly focused on those of German descent. Despite being born in America, German immigrants were treated with prejudice, hostility and racial intolerance. Many were interned in camps.

Continue reading

Secondhand Sunsets by Gail Kittleson

Restoring The Years

Second Hand Sunsets by Gail Kittleson is a marvellous Christian historical novel set from 1863 during the American Civil War and its aftermath.

The novel is about the loss of family and the grief that follows as one looks back over the memories. An unscrupulous character takes advantage of another’s grief, leading her where she would not normally go. Grief blinds to the present situation.

Cruel words spoken over us may linger. We believe what we are told even if it is a lie. A character believes she is no good and deserves everything she gets as she is manipulated by another.

There is the difficult topic of domestic abuse. “Why’dja make me do it?” It is important to remember that abuse is not our fault, we do not deserve it and we must seek help to escape it.

We need to listen to the life affirming voice of God who says we are loved. A character hears her father’s voice tell her “No matter how dirty you get, I will always find you, dear daughter.” This is a picture of God who always seeks us out, to love us no matter what situations we are in. No one is ever out of reach of His hand.

Continue reading

Until Then by Gail Kittleson

The Indomitable Spirit

Until Then by Gail Kittleson is a Christian historical novel covering the war years 1943-1945. It is an epic read that will break your heart.

Clearly Gail Kittleson has thoroughly researched her topic both on the home front and on the continent as a medical army camp moves around tending the wounded. Both locations faced their own hardships as they witness death and destruction.

Life in war torn London is viewed through the eyes of a policeman. He witnesses horrors that he cannot ‘unsee’ and is haunted by memories.

Likewise there are horrors seen on the continent through the eyes of the nurses. Camaraderie helps them to cope with the horrors of war. At times they laugh because otherwise they would cry. I must admit I chuckled in horror at the latrine incident.

Continue reading

A Purpose True by Gail Kittleson

Maintain Hope

A Purpose True by Gail Kittleson is a wonderful epic Christian historical read. It is the third and final book in the Women Of Heartland series and what a marvellous end it was. With action alternating between 1976 and the second world war years, from the shores of America to the French countryside via London, the reader is in for a real treat.

The novel continues to follow the S.O.E operative who paired with the French resistance to fight against the Nazi occupation. Their mission is to disrupt Nazi movements rather than direct combat. The reader witnesses some awful atrocities – atrocities that leave characters nursing nightmares for years. 1976 shows that the fight to bring the perpetrators of evil to justice, continues.

Continue reading